Do you know that WhatsApp function that allows you to send temporary messages that self-destruct after a certain period of time? Well, Instagram -which by the way is from the same company, Facebook- also has a very similar feature with which we can send photos or videos that are automatically deleted once viewed .
The possibility of sending photos and videos that disappear is not new, in fact it has been active on Instagram since 2020. The social network continues to implement new functionalities such as stickers that allow adding links , but in this case the issue of temporary photos is something that He comes from afar, although many people still do not know him.
Instagram: how to send self-destructing photos and videos once viewed
It should be noted that this function is not available for the web version of Instagram , so if we want to use it we will have to go to the Instagram mobile app. Likewise, we must bear in mind that once the recipient has viewed the sent image, it will disappear unless we give them express permission to reproduce this content again.
With that said, let’s see how we can send a temporary image or video to another Instagram user.
- Open the Instagram app and click on the “send message” icon that you will see in the upper right area of the screen.
- Find the contact you want to send the message to and open a chat with him.
- Click on the blue camera icon, located in the lower left corner of the screen.
- Then take the photo with the camera or choose an image from your gallery by clicking on the square that is just in the lower left area.
- Once the image is chosen, you will see that there is a sliding menu in the lower area:
- Select “One time only” to have the image automatically erased after the first viewing.
- Choose the “Allow again” option if you want the contact to be able to see the photo more than once.
- Finally, you can also choose “Keep in chat” if you want the image to remain in the chat of the conversation.
- When you have everything ready, simply click on “Send”.
In this way, you will see that the image we just sent does not show any thumbnail, just a balloon with the text “Photo”. Once the image is viewed, if we try to reopen it, nothing will happen. As if it had never existed.
As we have seen, the truth is that it is really easy to send “single use” photos or that they self-destruct through Instagram messages. If you found this post interesting, you can find much more content in the ” APPLICATIONS ” section . Thanks for sharing your time with me reading this post!